

The Washington Report

The Newsletter of the National Association of Police Organizations
Representing America's Finest

May 22, 2014

NAPO WASHINGTON REPORT

TOP COPS® SUCCESS

The 21st Annual TOP COPS Awards® Ceremony was an amazing success. NAPO is most grateful for all those who helped to make the TOP COPS® weekend so memorable, and we look forward to preparing for next year's TOP COPS Awards®, where we will have another opportunity to honor our nation's heroes and pay tribute to law enforcement officers from across the country for actions above and beyond the call of duty.

We hope you will join us in once again in congratulating this year's TOP COPS® winners, as well as thanking our generous sponsors.





TOP COPS AWARDS®

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF POLICE ORGANIZATIONS

2014 TOP COP Award Winners

Alabama

FBI Hostage Rescue Team

Special Agent Brock Bahe Special Agent Rodney O. Draper Special Agent Christian Galeski Special Agent J. Michael Montoya Special Agent Matthew R. Nagle

Arizona

Phoenix Police Department

Detective Fabian Gonzalez

District of Columbia

Metro Police Department

Tactical Officer Dorian DeSantis Officer Emmanuel Smith Officer Scott Williams

United States Park Police

Officer Carl E. Hiott Officer Andrew W. Wong

Naval Criminal Investigative Service

Special Agent Brian E. Kelley Special Agent Edward J. Martin Special Agent Joshua D. Powell

Florida

Miami Dade Police Department

Officer Mario Gutierrez

Iowa

North Liberty Police Department

Officer Cody Lane Jacobsen Sergeant Adam E. Olson Sergeant Chris Shine

New Jersey

Trenton Police Department

Detective James E. Letts Detective Edgar Rios

Mercer County Sheriff's Office

Detective William Miller

New York

New York City Police Department Police Officer Joseph John Koch

Massachusetts

Boston Police Department

Police Officer Omar Borges
Detective Kenneth M. Conley
Police Officer Gregory R. Eunis
Police Officer Jarrod Gero
Police Officer Jean Gerard JeanLouis
Detective John B. Joyce
Police Officer Terence Long
Police Officer Gregory McCormick
Police Officer Richard G. Moriarty
Police Officer John Moynihan
Police Officer John M. Noberini
Police Officer Jason A. Nuñez
Police Officer Scott Pulchansingh

Detective Joseph G. Scaringello Police Officer Dennis O. Simmonds Police Officer Walter J. Suprey

Sergeant Detective Kevin E. Waggett

MBTA Transit Police

Police Officer Dic Donohue

Massachusetts State Police
Trooper Christopher J. Dumont

Watertown Police Department

Police Officer Miguel A. Colon, Jr. Police Officer Michael W. Comick Sergeant John C.P. MacLellan Police Officer Timothy B. Menton Sergeant Jeffrey J. Pugliese Police Officer Joseph Reynolds Police Officer Jean S. Sarkissian

Ohio

Solon Police Department Patrolman Steven Davis Patrolman Nicholas Kline

Texas

Dallas Police Department /
U.S. Marshals Service North Texas Fugitive
Task Force
Detective Frederick E. Frazier
Detective Kurt Hibbets

Grapevine Police Department

Officer Ryan Sayre



NAPO WISHES TO THANK THE GENEROUS SPONSORS OF THIS YEAR'S TOP COPS AWARDS!

Gold

Access Alliance
Lincoln Financial Group
Mass Mutual Financial Group
Nationwide Retirement Solutions

Silver Bronze

Continental Home Loans, Inc.

California Casualty
Huntsinger and Jeffer, Inc.

Law Enforcement Sponsors

Austin Police Association

Boston Emergency Services Division of the BPPA

Boston Police Patrolmen's Association

Boston Police Detectives Benevolent Society

Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas

Dallas Police Association

NYC Detectives' Endowment Association, Inc.

Detroit Police Officers Association

Pade County Police Benevolent Association F.O.P. Metropolitan Police Labor Committee

Fort Worth Police Officers Association Houston Police Officers' Union

Las Vegas Police Protective Association

Los Angeles Police Protective League

Mercer County Sheriff's Officers, PBA #187

New Jersey State Policemen's Benevolent Association

New York City Patrolmen's Benevolent Association

Ohio Patrolmen's Benevolent Association

Phoenix Law Enforcement Association

Police Benevolent & Protective Association of Illinois

Police Officers Labor Council of Michigan
Port Authority of NY & NJ Sergeant's Benevolent Association
Port Authority PBA, Inc. of NY & NJ
State Police Association of Massachusetts
Wisconsin Professional Police Association

TOP COPS® Visit the White House

President Obama and Vice President Biden recognized this year's TOP COPS® at the White House. Please visit the following site to review the transcript of the President's and Vice President's remarks: http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2014/05/12/remarks-president-and-vice-president-honoring-national-association-pol-0.

Additionally, you can view the YouTube video of the actual remarks by the President and Vice President at the following site: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csFysc35O-8.

NOMINATIONS FOR 22ND ANNUAL TOP COPS® AWARDS

If you would like to nominate a TOP COP® for next year's awards, please fill out the TOP COPS Awards® Nomination Form, which can be found on NAPO's website at the following link: http://www.napo.org/files/2213/9351/7481/TOP_COPS_nomination_color_2015.pdf. (Nominations must be postmarked no later than January 16, 2015).

If you have any questions, please contact NAPO's Director of Events, Elizabeth Loranger, at eloranger@napo.org.

Please monitor NAPO's website <u>www.napo.org</u>, and Facebook page: National Association of Police Organizations, and follow us on Twitter at NAPOpolice for breaking news and updates.